Australian Currency Calculator
Currency Used on the Sunshine Coast
Currency Used on the Sunshine Coast

Currency Used on the Sunshine Coast

The official currency in Australia is the Australian dollar. The value of the Australian dollar goes up and down like a yo-yo and in the last few years has been as low as US$0.45 but is now hanging around the US$0.96 mark.

The Australian dollar is divided into 100 cents. Coin denominations are 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, $1 and $2. Notes are $5, $10, $20, $50 and $100, are colour coded and made from a plastic compound that will survive a wash or a swim.

Even though we no longer have 1 and 2 cent coins in circulation, many shops sell products at odd amounts. However, the law provides that the TOTAL bill is rounded up or down to the nearest 5 cents. So $19.97 becomes $19.95, $19.98 becomes $20.00.

Travellers cheques, especially in foreign currencies, are generally not accepted except by hotels and big stores and tourist shops. These display a `travellers cheques welcome' sign. Cash your cheques at a bank or Bureau de Change to ensure you have enough spending money.

Currency Converter

Visit for their Universal Currency Converter or use the handy tool below.